PASSING EACH LEVEL WITH GRACE

The world is so messed up that no one really bothers to listen to the real stories of people: we judge politicians by a newspaper article written by a third person, we judge celebrities with the juicy gossip that magazines such as “Hello!” or “OK! Magazine” publish, we judge people by the rumors that are let loose in the air, but how often do we decide to talk to someone and find their story? 
As a seventeen year old, I’d like to think that my life has been one heck of a ride and to be honest, I wouldn’t have it any other way, and for once in my lifetime I wanted to be able to tell my own story. My version.
Being the rebellious teenager I took on the task of doing everything my parents told me not to. Why? Obviously because it was fun. It made me feel in control. Little did I know then, that I couldn’t control my life that early on. I was too young. I was one immature girl trying to grow up too fast.
You see, the problem with having a phase like that is having to deal with the repercussions later on in life. Once you get outta that rebel- the world revolves around me- i don’t give a crap phase of yours, you will always be looked at, as the girl who was a rebel. People rarely see the good in you and that will drive you nuts. No matter how perfect you try to be, people wont notice it and it is then that realization hits you like a truck. 
That is what drove me into my depression. Depression isn’t something small, it is a huge deal. It is something so dear to me for if it wasn’t that phase of mine, I wouldn’t have emerged to become a writer, i wouldn’t have emerged to be stronger. Feeling down from time to time is a normal part of life, but when emotions such as hopelessness and despair take hold and just won’t go away, that my dear friends is DEPRESSION. The funny thing about depression is you may have your family around you, you may seem to have everything, but there will always be this feeling of lifelessness and emptiness. You feel like you’ve been sucked into an emotional black hole, like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. 
Well, that’s where you might have gone wrong. There is always coming back and it begins with realizing and accepting that you are depressed, then you got to reach out to people, talk to others, don’t isolate yourself. Isolation only fuels your depression. Find ways to get the sadness out of your system, I got it out by writing, but you could try singing, painting, drawing, anything. Most importantly, try moving on with life. Get off that bed, and face the world.
Today, life is a lot different for me. It definitely isn’t a ray of sunshine at all times but it sure is way better than it used to be. I have friends I can talk to anything and everything about. I’ve taken a leap of faith and began to pen my thoughts on my instagram page and now I have diversified to this platform too.
You can do anything you set your mind to. Have any of you experienced depression? How did you make your way out of it? How is life treating  you now? Communication is key, so let us try and help the others.
...the girl online going offline... xx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

